WEAPONS CHARGES ATTORNEY IN WEST HAVEN, CONNECTICUT
Weapons charges–those involving firearms or other weapons, which include but are not limited to knives, blackjacks, brass knuckles and explosives–are very serious. Many are felonies that carry significant prison time. Some even include mandatory minimums–sentences that require a period of imprisonment for a conviction. Despite the severity of these offenses, there are considerable exceptions, defenses and other possible resolutions to them.
Among the most common criminal firearms charges are those that involve pistols (handguns). In Connecticut, a valid pistol permit is required to carry a pistol on one’s person or in a motor vehicle. The possible penalty for carrying a pistol on one’s person without a permit, in violation of Conn. Gen. Stat. 29-35, is 1-5 years in prison, one year of which cannot be suspended without a court’s determination of mitigating circumstances. The penalty for a conviction of Carrying a Weapon in a Vehicle is up to five years of prison time but without the mandatory minimum sentence. It is important to note that Connecticut does not recognize permits issued by other states.
Additionally, there are exceptions to the permit rules mentioned above. These can be defenses to criminal charges. If your pistol permit is revoked or denied, you can appeal it to the Board of Firearms Permit Examiners. Read more about that process on our permit appeals page.
Persons convicted of felonies and select other crimes, as well as those who fit various psychiatric statuses, are ineligible to possess any type of firearm, as set forth in 53a-217c. This is called Criminal Possession of a Firearm. Most states and the federal government have similar laws. The federal law is codified under 18 U.S.C. 922(g). Criminal Possession of a Firearm in Connecticut is a C felony, which is punishable by up to ten years of jail, two of which cannot be suspended (mandatory minimum), as well as a near-mandatory fine of $5000.00.
There are many other firearms laws, state and federal, in addition to those mentioned on this page. One should not possess or use a firearm without proper training and a thorough understanding of the applicable law.
CARRYING OF DANGEROUS WEAPONS
Weapons other than guns are also highly restricted. Sec. 53-206 prohibits the carrying of dangerous weapons on the person. Such weapons include switchblades, long knives, brass knuckles, blackjacks and numerous other instruments within the statute’s broad language. Sec. 29-38 further prohibits the possession of such weapons in motor vehicles. Similar to the firearms laws, there are exceptions in the statutes.
For more information on Connecticut weapons laws, watch our videos.
WEAPONS CHARGES ATTORNEY IN CONNECTICUT
We have years of experience defending many clients, including minors, against weapons charges. We will use our knowledge and experience to your case in Connecticut, and we will work with you to achieve your goals, including reinstatement of your permit. Contact us for a free consultation.